Working Together to Nourish the Nation

  • Home
  • Program Updates to USDA Summer Meals for Children

Program Updates to USDA Summer Meals for Children

  • Thursday, March 16, 2023
  • 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
  • GoToWebinar


Registration is closed

Upcoming Changes to USDA Summer Meals Programs for Children

Thursday, March 16 | 3:00 - 4:00 PM ET

Members: Free
Non-Members: $25

Join USDA to learn about how recent federal legislation will impact summer meals programs for children beginning this summer. Topics to be covered include: permitting the Summer Food Service Program (SFSP) to operate in non-congregate settings in rural areas beginning in summer 2023; and the creation of a new federal nutrition program for summer 2024: Summer EBT. USDA will cover how these programs may impact commodities distribution for the SFSP moving forward.

Meet the Speaker: 

Brittany O’Bryan 

Brittany O’Bryan has been with FNS since 2021. She is the Team Lead for the Community Meals Policy Division. Prior to joining FNS, Brittany worked at the Louisiana Department of Education (LDOE) as a Program Specialist, where she provided program administration and operational support to Child Nutrition Program Operators in the National School Lunch Program, School Breakfast Program, and the Summer Food Service Program. Prior to working with LDOE, Brittany worked in the medical field for over 10 years as a Clinical Nutrition Manager and Dietitian. She received her bachelor’s in science from Lamar University, and then completed her master’s in science with a concentration in nutrition and wellness and her didactic program at McNeese State University.

Since joining CN, Brittany has worked on numerous projects which include, COVID-19 Nationwide Waivers, COVID-19 12(l) Waivers, program guidance, and most recently the SFSP non-congregate interim final rule. Brittany has utilized her SFSP experience from the State level to serve as a resource when providing technical assistance and guidance to Program operators.

Brittany lives in Arlington, Virginia, but will ALWAYS represent Louisiana. LSU, Go Tigers!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software